Friday, December 24, 2010

Ag Disaster Declaration

Fremont County--Putnam photo

Teton County Receives Natural Disaster Designation by USDA

Boise– Farmers in Teton, Bonneville, Fremont, and Madison counties have until August 17, 2011 to apply for emergency loan assistance. The Idaho State Emergency Board (SEB) has received notification from USDA that the request made through the office of Governor Butch Otter for an agricultural disaster declaration for Teton County has been approved.

Dick Rush, SEB Chair and State Executive Director for the Farm Service Agency said that USDA has designated Teton County and three contiguous counties as natural disaster areas due to losses caused by unseasonal freezing, rain and hail during August and September of 2010 adversely affecting grains and other crops in the area. "I understand these conditions caused severe damage to area crops and affected the value of the harvest," said Rush. "This action will provide help to those producers who suffered significant production losses."

Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in both primary and contiguous counties eligible to be considered for assistance from the FSA, provided eligibility requirements are met. Contiguous counties include Bonneville, Fremont and Madison County. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans as well as the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) Program. SURE program applications will not be accepted until later in 2011 when 2010 farm revenue data has been received. Emergency loan applications can be accepted immediately and each application will be considered on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses, security available, and repayment ability.

For more information, or to apply for a loan under the designation, contact your local FSA County Office prior to the deadline. Contact #'s in the affected area are: Teton County - 275 Old Railroad Way, Driggs, ID 83422, Phone 208-354-3680; Bonneville County - 1120 E Lincoln Rd. Suite B, Idaho Falls, ID 83401, Phone 208-744-6250; Fremont County 1210 S Industrial Park Road, St. Anthony, ID 83445, Phone 208-624-7391; and Madison County - 302 Profit, Rexburg, ID 83440, Phone 208-356-5701.

No comments:

Summer Presidents Meeting underway in McCall

Lt. Gov Brad Little welcomes Farm Bureau County Presidents to McCall. The meeting is being held at historic Shore Lodge. (Ritter photo) ...