Friday, December 2, 2011

2011 IFBF Convention Wrap-up

Susan and Lynn Steadman accept the Presidents Cup at the IFBF Convention in Coeur d'Alene on Wednesday night.

Frank Priestley Reelected Idaho Farm Bureau President

COEUR D’ALENE – Delegates at the 72nd Annual Idaho Farm Bureau Convention reelected Frank Priestley to serve an 8th consecutive two-year term as President of Idaho’s largest general farm organization.

“It’s an honor and I’m humbled to serve another term as President,” Priestley said. “I want to thank all the members for their support. Now it’s back to work to address the complex issues that concern the farmers of this state.”

Priestley has served at various leadership levels in the organization for over 30 years and has also served on the American Farm Bureau Federation’s Board of Directors. He raises alfalfa and dairy heifers on his farm in Franklin County.

At the Annual Meeting Banquet at the Coeur d’Alene Resort, Lynn and Susan Steadman of Raft River were awarded the IFBF President’s Cup for their contribution to agriculture through the decades. Steadman served on county, state and national advisory boards before his election as IFBF Vice President. In their years of service the Steadman’s emerged as leaders at every level of Farm Bureau involvement, starting back in 1982 when they were first honored as outstanding Young Farmers & Ranchers members.

“I’ve served locally, nationally and I’ve greatly enjoyed our Farm Bureau activities,” Steadman said. “We made great friends along the way not only in our county but throughout the state and across the country. We greatly treasure those friendships and always will.”

The IFBF Women’s Leadership Committee recognizes volunteers at the Annual Meeting and selects a Woman of the Year from each of five districts. The women are singled out for their volunteer efforts and accomplishments in their respective districts. The five women selected this year are Shirley Barrie of Bonneville County, Julia Phillips of Bingham County, Ilean Bruns of Twin Falls County, Sherry Colyer of Owyhee County, and Sandy Daniel of Boundary County. The five women were profiled in a special video that was shown during the IFBF Annual Banquet.

Jake Andersen of Power County won this year’s Young Farmer and Rancher Discussion Meet. Andersen took home a new Polaris Trail Boss four-wheeler for his efforts. Duke Mumford of Franklin County won the Excellence in Agriculture Award and received a new laptop computer. Greg and Gwen Andersen of Power County won the Achiever Award, and a new Polaris Ranger side by side. The winners of all three Young Farmer and Rancher awards also receive an all-expense paid trip to Honolulu, Hawaii in January where they will compete against their peers from across the nation.

Also during the annual meeting IFBF members attended educational workshops on social networking, direct marketing, farm safety, market outlook, labor and immigration reform, the Idaho One plan and Robert Blair, a farmer from Kendrick who was named an Eisenhower Fellow this year reported on a recent trip to Argentina, Brazil and Uruguay. The banquet keynote speaker was rancher Wanda Blair of South Dakota who easily lived up to her billing of “Giving the Gift of Laughter.”

Mark Trupp of Teton County was reelected as IFBF Vice President. Reelected to the IFBF State Board of Directors were Bryan Searle of Shelley, Curt Krantz, Notus, Danny Ferguson, Rigby, Gerald Marchant, Oakley and Marjorie French of Princeton. Cody Chandler of Weiser was elected chair of the IFBF Young Farmers and Ranchers Committee.

The Idaho Farm Bureau is the largest general farm organization in the state. Find more information at

1 comment:

vickya said...

I share to your blog to my twitter. By regards Business Cards And Wholesale Printers

Idaho grower featured in Smithsonian 'Precision Farming' exhibit

By Sean Ellis Idaho Farm Bureau Federation POCATELLO – Robert Blair’s North Idaho farm is one of four farming operations around t...