Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Just in from Washington

House Farm Bill Conferees Appointed
Washington--House Speaker John Boehner (R-Ohio) on Friday named 17 Republican negotiators to serve on the House-Senate conference committee charged with resolving differences between the House and Senate-passed farm bills. 

The Republican leadership conferee is Rep. Steve Southerland (R-Fla). House Agriculture Committee conferees are: Rep. Frank D. Lucas (R-OK), committee chairman; Rep. Steve King (R-Iowa); Rep. Randy Neugebauer (R-Texas); Rep. Mike Rogers (R-Ala.); Rep. Mike Conaway (R-Texas); Rep. Glenn "GT" Thompson (R-Pa.); Rep. Austin Scott (R-Ga.) Rep. Rick Crawford (R-Ark.); Rep. Martha Roby (R-Ala.) Rep. Kristi Noem (R-S.D.); Rep. Jeff Denham (R-Calif.); and Rep. Rodney Davis (R-Ill.). House Foreign Affairs Committee conferees are: Rep. Ed Royce (R-Calif.), committee chairman; and Rep. Tom Marino (R-Pa.) House Ways & Means Committee conferees are: Rep. Dave Camp (R-Mich.), committee chairman; and Rep. Sam Johnson (R-Texas).

Last week House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) named 12 Democratic negotiators to the farm bill conference committee. The Democratic leadership conferee is Rep. Marcia Fudge (D-Ohio), chairwoman of the Congressional Black Caucus. House Agriculture Committee conferees are: Ranking Member Collin Peterson (D-Minn.); Rep. Mike McIntyre (D-N.C.); Rep. Jim Costa (D-Calif.); Rep. Tim Walz (D-Minn.); Rep. Kurt Schrader (D-Ore.); Rep. Jim McGovern (D-Mass.); Rep. Suzan DelBene (D-Wash.); Rep. Gloria Negrete McLeod (D-Calif.); and Rep.  Filemon Vela (D-Texas). The House Committee on Foreign Affairs conferee is Ranking Member Rep. Eliot Engel (D-N.Y.). The House Ways and Means Committee conferee is Ranking Member Rep. Sandy Levin (D-Mich.).

No comments:

Farm Bureau Encourages Lawmakers to Support Death Tax Repeal Bill

Washington-Many farms and ranches will be helped by the recently enacted estate tax exemption of $11 million per person indexed for inflat...