Friday, October 23, 2015

Just in

Canyon County Farm Bureau Elects New Officers

CALDWELL-- Matt Dorsey, a fifth generation farmer from the Canyon County’s Sunny Slope Area, has been elected as president of the Canyon County Farm Bureau, the state’s largest county farm bureau organization, the group announced.

Dorsey was elected at the CCFB’s recent Annual Membership Meeting.  At that meeting Sid Freeman from Caldwell was elected as the 1st Vice President and Greg Payne of Caldwell was elected as the 2nd vice president.  Payne was also re-elected to the group’s 11- member board of directors.

Newly elected members of the board of directors were John Ihli, Mitch Bicandi and Danyele Jansen-Van Beek (all from the Caldwell area).  Van Beek will serve as the chairman of the County’s Young Farmer & Rancher program.  Those re-elected to the board were Dick Taggert from Nampa and Michael McEvoy from Middleton.

Allison Bicandi was selected by the Board as the vice chairman of the county’s Young Farmer & Rancher program.

Steve Truesdell from Wilder and Maurine Johnson from Greenleaf chose not to run for re-election and the time they spent serving on the board over the past 6-years was praised by the Bureau members.

The Canyon County Farm Bureau represents more than 7,300 members including 1,509 farming and ranching members.

Canyon County is a rather small county geographically but one with a huge agricultural economy.  The country ranks 17th out of 44 Idaho counties in terms of land area in agriculture, but ranks 4th in the state in terms of the overall cash receipts from agriculture which exceeds some $520 million.  Approximately 84 percent of Canyon County’s land is allocated to agriculture across more than 322,000 acres.  Specialty crops such as seed are raised in this County and certain varieties are only grown in this area to supply the world with food.

No comments:


Boise– Governor Butch  Otter and House Speaker Scott Bedke announced an agreement today between water users and water managers on prioriti...